top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSylva

Stuck

A Poem by Shelby Bond

"Stuck"


Life pushes down on my chest

heavy,

pounding

It’s hard to

breathe


I try to move,

to find my strength

but my limbs refuse


stuck

in this place

this pain


My body & mind,

forever arguing

My thoughts & speech,

forever contradicting


Lately, relief is hard to find

The little things help me cling

Important as a strangers

smile


In those glances, pressure lessens

briefly,

heart lighter

mind clearer

for a moment


In my darkness, those cracks of light

give me

sight


In my hole, those undemanding acts

help me

climb


 

Shelby Bond is a junior at Indiana Wesleyan University studying elementary education and language arts. A Grand Rapids native, Shelby loves exploring new places and spending her time outdoors, whether that be kayaking on Lake Michigan or traveling around the world. While reading is her first love, she enjoys writing as a means to help better process the range of experiences and emotions encountered in life.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page