top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSylva

runaway

By Grace Batronis


runaway


my mind loves the underdeveloped

polaroid of me in the dark, wander

-ing, like my neck loves the chill that's running

across it. the tree's lit matches get blown


out by the wind and still I ache for the

path they burn, like a siren tethered to

land. I have no bags to pack. no lists to

plan. no souls to promise that I'll be back


again. like ocean spray in the beating

rain, like Hamlet's ghost once justice is had,

I'll fade from the scene on a starless night,

on a foggy day, in the absence of


light. let me race until my heels blister

and burst and wear through the soul of my lungs.


 

Grace Batronis is a sophomore English major who lives just far enough away to make it a hassle to visit her cat (and maybe also her parents) on weekends. She enjoys researching obscure historical figures, sketching, and reading YA fiction. She is one of this year’s co-editors of Caesura.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page