top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSylva

From the Desk of Andrea Munroe


~Poems by Andrea Munroe


A Psalm for Hong Kong

For the Director of Nations. On the suspension of the extradition bill. Of a Christian in Hong Kong.

1 Save our nation from hatred, LORD;

Protect our people from the tyranny of our enemies.

2 I have seen so much graffiti on our sacred walls;

I mourn the blood on our hallowed streets;

I miss the innocence of our skyward windows.

3 See what injustices lie in the hands of our police!

Look, God, upon the trajectory of our freedom.

4 Our people gather peacefully at dawn

And howl by midnight in prison without bail;

In despair, our brothers take the name of rioters.

5 The Chinese flood our government with frauds;

They upend our democracy with their puppets.

6 For twenty-three years I have waited in fear.

In twenty-seven more, they will close our mouths;

In twenty-seven years, I will not recognize myself.

7 Where will your people among this nation go?

How will we, LORD, escape their persecution?

8 From where will my help come but You, God?

The nations fear China and their trade;

The world begs for reform from someone else.


9 Forgive us, Almighty, for the violence we have caused;

Judge us by our faith and not our wrongdoings!

10 These streets cry out for your mercy;

LORD, reach out to us, your oppressed;

LORD, hear our prayer!


 

That book on my phone

That siren

keeping me up at night

it’s an addiction

And don’t get me started on series

because I’ll gobble one

and suffer withdrawal

until finally the next is available

but I’m on the waitlist

93 of 93

and it couldn’t be moving more slowly.

That force drawing me away

from my family

my friends

waiting for the response on a text

I’ve been on my phone this entire time

but not really…

No, I’ve been running from boys

and kissing aliens

(Wait, was that backwards?)

That title should be called senioritis

because my to-do list has been divided

into factions:

Requirements for life

and

That annoying thing called self-care,

with the first list being a to-read list

and the second, while I’m waiting

for book 7.

That book on my phone

Turning into 2 or 3

as I scroll through the library

judging books by their covers

and only clicking on one

after seeing it 17 times before

to reread a description

and decide no,

not yet for this one

I’d have to stoop down

past my current desperate

to ultra-desperate

to pick this one

(aka, I reserve it right there).

That book, never ceasing

or maybe it’s done in a few hours

but always replaced

always restocked

until all I ever do is read

Read

I’m reading my eulogy:

Ran out of experiences

Because I read them all.

 

Andrea Munroe is a freshman Computer Science major and Honors College student. She loves making people laugh and would rather watch the rain than do her math homework, although she often has to compromise between the two. In her spare time, she collects C.S. Lewis books and contemplates the fabric of the universe. She currently aspires to publish the book she has in the works.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page