top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSylva

Cross Word

By Andrea Munroe


Cross Word


I used to think faith was too easy.

I solved puzzles in my sleep.

Youth leader saved at 17?

Ha! Head start!

Try 5 on for size

Abraham sacrificing his kid?

Pshh.

I was eight.

Mommy took away my ice cream

Sounded easy enough

I gave up my stuffed animals for Lent

That’s 64 things to your 1

My friends were already Christian

(except the gal at swim practice

but I ran out of time

Forgive and forget!)

Free ride faith

Hall pass from on High

An expert at 12.


Fill in blanks of sermon notes

Weekly crossword puzzle

32 Across

Laughter

6 Letters

Pshh.

Heard this all my life

I’ll doodle the church logo

to make it through to lunch.


Catch me, 16

anxious

There must be something more

Survivor’s guilt?

My grass was too green

My dad wasn’t dead

a matter of time?

When would God give me keys

to his big kingdom truck

by giving me tragedy to test me?

I was too good.

Gimme a challenge puzzle

Or does He think I’m not ready?


One day, I asked the Pharisees a question

My own voice gave the answer.

When did I PhD in law

and trade my soul?

Prodigal’s brother caught too much heat.

I’m a great person!

See?

16 Down

Sodom, Gomorrah

9 Letters.

Brimstone!


One day, I meet my rival

the tax collector

Put down my picket

that says my God hates her

Because I solved this puzzle

and She got the prize.

What?

I solved the puzzle!

She got a prize?

God came to the servant that righteous Abraham drove away

She knew the puzzle judge

I knew only how to judge

She asked for help;

she struggled and sought

I looked up my musings

on BibleHateway.com

I followed the references my puzzlers provided

I missed the point

and I got some things wrong.

Cascading answers

wrong

wrong

wrong

Count me in the ranks with Paul

who discovered too late

he chose the wrong cipher.

What’s the point of a crossword

Without the Word on the Cross?

 

Andrea Munroe is a sophomore physics major. She names inanimate objects after mathematicians and collects stickers to celebrate half birthdays. She also loves to write in cursive (so she can actually read her handwriting).


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page