top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSylva

Salve for the Determined Soul

Updated: Mar 20, 2020

By Claire Wrobel

Featured in Caesura 2020: Imago


Freezeframe


The world spins without you and


The world spins without you and

I do not know much about innocence


The world spins without you and

I do not know much about innocence

But I know you took it


The world spins without you and

I do not know much about innocence

But I know you took it

I kept count in my mind


I kept count in my mind


I kept count in my mind

Kept my face against the wall


I kept count in my mind

Kept my face against the wall

Kept rejecting each time you tried to call


I kept count in my mind

Kept my face against a wall

Kept rejecting each time you tried to call

And started stepping back into a world that spins without you

 

Bonus poems


Garden


My garden grows with water and sunshine and breath

With curves that brush blue and pure

Cucumber fresh


My garden drips across the green

Smooth and soothing

In rustling grass I hear Him pass

Until the thorns start spreading


My garden’s curves turn into spikes

That sit low until they strike

The petals once so soft and plush

Now the hurting, haunting type


This garden, so dearly tended

Pretended to be pretty with compassion

Crayolas crusting into ashen abstractions


That garden knew me

Saw through me

And wooed me

Every afternoon


Slowly excused me

Until I was a refugee

Begging for a place in my own hands


Gardens

Harden

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page